HistoryCivilizationTravellingIn FocusGallery
HistoryAncient MacedoniaThe Roman period

The Roman period

The period of nominal independence
The period of the Republic
The period of the Principate
The period of the Tetrachy
The institutions of the Roman period
The economy of the Roman period

Images on this page

Octavian Augustus
Statue of Octavian Augustus, the head of which reproduces the Primaporta model, wearing a 'himation', 27 BC - 14 AD, Thessaloniki, Archaeological Museum.

PreviousUpNext The period of the Principate

Octavian Augustus
27 BC - 14 AD

When Octavian's Principate was established, following his victory at Aktion in 31 BC, there began for Macedonia -- as for most of the provinces -- a period of peace, order and prosperity.

When Octavian Augustus and the Senate divided the provinces between them (27 BC), the Roman troops withdrew from Macedonia, which became a 'provincia inermis' (unarmed province) under senatorial control. When Diocletian divided the empire in twelve dioceses in 15 BC, Macedonia regained its former boundaries, and became one of the provinces of the dioces of Moesia ('dioecesis Moesiarium'). From 15 BC to 44 AD it became an imperial province administered by a consular legate.

The constant modifications in the administration were to the detriment of both the Senate's power and the autonomy of the Macedonian cities, and to the benefit of the Emperor and his delegates. Internal turbulence and the barbarian incursions of the 2nd and 3rd centuries AD (Costoboci, Carpi, Goths, Heruls) resulted in economic, social and political decline.

See Also
Civilization - The mints of the Roman period

Macedonian Heritage
Content courtesy Ekdotike Athenon S.A.